A Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters – the first Brother Cadfael mystery

A Morbid Taste for Bones (Chronicles of Brother Cadfael, #1)A Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My sister gave me three Brother Cadfael books for Christmas, recalling my love of the TV show starring Derek Jacobi that we used to watch on PBS ‘Mystery’ when I was in Junior High. This is the first time I have actually read any of the books, and I was suitably entertained.

Cadfael is still Cadfael — a pragmatic fellow who knows what he got into in becoming a Benedictine even when it’s not entirely to his liking. He wants the truth, and his knowledge of plants and his old life outside the monastery (that included Crusade) help him find out the murderer.

And there is Prior Robert; my wife says he is someone who belongs in the Mafia but somehow found himself mixed up with a Benedictine Abbey.

This first Brother Cadfael novel takes Cadfael and some of the brethren of Shrewsbury to Wales in search of relics, the bones of St Winifrid, but while they are there, murder most foul transpires. I will say no more of the plot, but Peters captures much of the spirit of the age, and I highly recommend this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

