Taking a Third Look at Cyprus

I was going to call this post ‘Taking a Second Look at Cyprus,’ but I already did that 2 years ago! You can see my first look at Cyprus in this Flickr set and my second look in this Flickr set. The idea that this my third look is that it is a new look. Cyprus has changed since I lived here 2005-06. I, too, have changed. I may be a bit more jaded and cynical, but I also have greater knowledge about art and architecture and Eastern Orthodoxy.

So I see with different eyes.

Here are some things I’ve seen. They are all from Nicosia, and from the second photo onwards from a walk I took one day into the Old City.

In a city divided not only by armies and governments but by religions as well, this is an interesting graffito.

In a city divided not only by armies and governments but by religions as well, this is an interesting graffito.

Why write ????? in the Latin alphabet?

Why write alpha in the Latin alphabet?

7 years this was my favourite gyros place. 2 years ago it was closed. It is indicative of the economy that it has not been replaced by something else.

7 years this was my favourite gyros place. 2 years ago it was closed. It is indicative of the economy that it has not been replaced by something else.

 

Snazzy new buses at the snazzy new bus stop in Solomon Square.

Snazzy new buses at the snazzy new bus stop in Solomon Square.

Faneromeni Church, Nicosia

Faneromeni Church, Nicosia

Interior of Faneromeni Church

Interior of Faneromeni Church

Faneromeni again

Faneromeni again

 

Before building in the Old City of Nicosia, an archaeological dig is carried out.

Before building in the Old City of Nicosia, an archaeological dig is carried out.

Top of iconostasis in Ayios Antonios church. Note the dragons flanking the phoenix. Does anyone know their significance?

Top of iconostasis in Ayios Antonios church. Note the dragons flanking the phoenix. Does anyone know their significance?

Omeriye Mosque

Omeriye Mosque

 

 

Leave a Reply

