Note the Links

As you may have noticed, the blog has undergone various updates.  First, Andrew got the theme I liked working for me, along with that nifty picture at the top.  Then Janna updated me to WordPress 2.5.1, so now I’ve added some widgets in the sidebars, including the return of the links on the left!

Why are these links there?  What would you find if you were to click on them?  Who cares what websites Matthew recommends?  I’ve decided that, to answer questions of that nature, I shall make a few posts about the websites the blog links to.

Today I added two new links, so I thought I’d begin there, and then work my way through from top to bottom (or as whim carries me along).

Nordic Nonsense

This is Sven’s blog.  Some of you know Sven.  Some of you don’t but are, nonetheless, his friends on facebook.  Sven is a Viking warrior whom I rescued from Les Galeries de Hull, and he stands beside my desk, around six feet tall, carrying an axe and a shield, a helm on his head.

His blog, I imagine, will be about what it’s like being a Viking in the modern world.  An urban Viking.  He has only made one post thus far, but I imagine there shall be more.  I recommend his blog to you for its insight into Vikings, its commentary on Canada, and just pure fun!

Liturgy

This website is run by Bosco Peters, a NZ Anglican priest who’s a big fan of (surprise surprse!) liturgy.  He has a blog, as well as resources about Eucharist, for worship services, the church year, spirituality, prayer, lectio divina, and the liturgy of the hours.

His perspective will probably feel too “catholic” for many evangelicals, but he is trying to cut through the baggage of the age, finding a common rootedness for us all in the Eucharist itself, in the body and blood of Jesus.  Apparently some find him to be liberal, others to be conservative.  Because of the connotations accompanying both, he likes to think of himself as contemplative and missional.

I’m not sure I’ll agree with everyone on his website.  But I’ve perused it in chunks and have found that I agree with enough to feel comfortable putting the link on my sidebar.  Furthermore, I find myself agreeing with the spirit of things at Liturgy often enough that I know he is doing something good.

For example, he calls us away from “seeker-friendly” services to a more missional approach in our daily lives, of seeking to draw friends into the path of discipleship, to make worship and the eucharist more like the gathering of a family and less like a show put on to attract people through the doors.

I agree with this, especially because most churches that engage in attractional church growth end up attracting sheep from other churches, not unbelievers.  The world mostly doesn’t give a rat’s ass what’s going on in our churches, my friends.  We need to be the ones bringing them in, not the cool band, the great sermons, the incense, the candles, the rock worship, the coffee or any of that.  It is us, our lives, our very essence and being.

I think Bosco Peters is trying to do that, trying to see liturgy and worship as more than just endless ritual that we do because we’re Anglican, trying to help us use them for our own spiritual formation.  And when we are more spiritually mature, then we can draw more people into the worship of Almighty God!

I hope I haven’t misrepresented Peters here.  I sort of got my own thoughts that were spinning because of his entangled in this discussion.  But his website is worth checking out.  Do so.

Leave a Reply

