The Twelfth Weekly Poem

After the puffin poem, I was contemplating “Alligator Pie,” and then Sophie said that she saw Dennis Lee on the horizon. So here’s another from my childhood (as the puffin was):

Alligator Pie by Dennis Lee, from Alligator Pie, Toronto: Macmillan, 1974
Alligator pie, alligator pie,
If I don’t get some I think I’m gonna die.
Give away the green grass, give away the sky,
But don’t give away my alligator pie.

Alligator stew, alligator stew,
If I don’t get some I don’t know what I’ll do.
Give away my furry hat, give away my shoe,
But don’t give away my alligator stew.

Alligator soup, alligator soup,
If I don’t get some I think I’m gonna droop.
Give away my hockey stick, give away my hoop,
But don’t give away my alligator soup.

Leave a Reply

